Total Pageviews

Thursday, April 29, 2010

Tuesday, April 27, 2010

Series tied

Caps lose 4-1 to send the series to a deciding Game 7 at Verizon on Wednesday. Pretty disappointing that we find ourselves in this predicament but it is what it is and we have to find a way to pull out the win.

The story of the game was Halak and his 53 saves. The Caps peppered him but he came up big time and again. Still, it's the same issues that have plagued us the last couple of years in the playoffs. We have to crowd the crease and not give Halak a clear view at the shot. We can shoot all we want but we have to do those little things that make the difference. Also, we have got to do better on the PP. The number one regular season PP unit is 1 for 30! Are you kidding me?!! We keep getting shots blocked. These are all similar things that have happened in previous playoff series.

Varly let in two softer goals so there is some question as to who might get the start on Wednesday but at this point, I think you stick with Varly. He has come up big enough times and Theo hasn't played in a while so a change might be difficult.

The problem now is that all the pressure is on the Caps. We are the #1 seed. We were up 3 games to 1. We are playing at home. Halak is playing unbelievable and inside the Caps heads (especially Semin). Ovie is frustrated at the defense played against him.

All this is no matter. It comes down to one game and we have to show why we are the #1 seed and why home ice advantage is an advantage.

LETS GO CAPS!!!!

Monday, April 26, 2010

Skins Draft

I'm good with it.

Frankly, the fact that we went O line with our first pick is huge. I was just afraid we might do something dumb. Okung seemed like the best name at O line but Williams apparently has more of an upside and is more athletic and seems to fit the scheme better so I'm happy about that. There were rumors we would take S Eric Berry which wouldn't have been terrible but we really needed to go O line.

McNabb was essentially our second round pick so I'm fine with that.

Jeremy Jarmon was essentially our third round pick as we took him in the supplemental draft last year so I'm good with that.

This LB Riley in the fourth round seems like a solid pick. He was a former Butkus finalist (top LB in the country). He played outside LB in college but all the scouts project him to be an inside LB in the pros which is good as we make the move to the 3-4 defense. We really didn't have another inside LB so it's a good pick. However, Bruce Campbell from MD was available and was considered a possible first round pick and it would have been nice to get another O lineman so that we would have all new tackles. The hope would have been that we had guys that could be the bookends of the line for the next 10 years.

Didn't really understand the TE we picked up. We seem stacked at TE but I guess this guy is more of a Mike Sellers type (big, blocking type of guy).

Three picks in the 7th round -- a WR and two O linemen. These guys are long shots to make the team but at least we drafted for need and one of these guys may be a diamond in the rough.

All in all, solid picks.

Friday, April 23, 2010

Skins take Trent Williams

Robs favorite guy Jason LaCanfora was reporting that there was increased speculation that the Skins would go with Eric Berry with their top pick but in the end we took O lineman, Trent Williams.

I like the pick. It seemed that it was between Okung and Williams but Williams seems to be the better fit for the system. Again, a good thing. We didn't go with just the sexy name but went with who we thought would be the better fit.

I also like that we drafted for need and not the best available player. In years past, we didn't seem to do that.

I would have been okay with Berry but the more pressing need for years has been O line and I'm happy that we took a big step in addressing that.

The Skins traded away their 2nd round pick for McNabb so he essentially is our second round pick and I'm good with that. We gave up our 3rd round pick when we took Jeremy Jarmon in the supplemental draft last year. Jarmon was expected to be a first or second round pick this year so I'm good with that. We won't draft until the 4th round unless we make a trade for Haynesworth. That is a decent possibility given that we have brought in several linemen that better fit the scheme. Again, a good thing.

Haynesworth is still one of the best D linemen in the game but we cannot afford to let his attitude effect what is being created here. I am happy keeping him and actually prefer to do so given that we have already paid much of his guaranteed money but then again, it's not my money so what do I care about that. I want a guy that is willing to play and not complain. If he plays, I hope he stays. If he complains, ship his fat arse outta here.

HAIL SKINS!!!

Thursday, April 22, 2010

DRAFT DAY IS HERE!!

If the Skins somehow choose Jimmy Clausen, I will drive out to Redskin Park, "pick up" Danny Boy, drive to Robs house and proceed to insert each of their respective heads into the others respective arse.

DRAFT DAY IS HERE!!

Caps take 3-1 series lead

Caps take what would seem an insurmountable 3-1 series lead over the Canadiens pretty much thanks to the heroics of Varly again. We were atrocious in the second period but Varly had about 4 fantastic saves that kept the game close.

The turning point in the game was when Knuble scored a shorthanded goal right before the end of the second period. That sucked the life out of the crowd and was a real momentum shifter.

Here is a quick analysis by period:

Period 1: Good to see Ovie score early on to take the 1-0 lead. Canadiens tied it at 1-1 and it was a pretty even battle at that point. I was fine to go into the intermission tied.

Period 2: Varly, Varly, and more Varly!!! The guy was brilliant in net. We were completely outplayed and outshot and Varly came up huge time and again to keep us in the game. Canadiens were still able to get one in to make it 2-1 and then got a power play at the end of the period. Crowd was roaring but Knuble's shorthanded goal was devastating for the Canadiens and again, was the turning point.

Period 3: Caps take over. Ovie got the eventual lead changing goal and we never looked back. Chimera got a goal and then a couple of empty netters by Backstrom and Knuble put it all out of reach. Again, we showed our superiority and the series looks all but over at this point.

The big concern is that we have not been able to put an entire game together. We have had stretches and even full periods that we seem to take off. This will not fly as we go deeper in the playoffs. We have to play hard for the full 60 minutes (plus OT if needed). Also, Semin has to score and get that monkey off his back.

Still, I am happy to be where we are and right now it looks like our next opponent will be the Flyers (don't like looking ahead but I'm going to do it anyway). If it does end up being the Flyers, I actually feel we will have an easier time with them than the Canadiens.

Hopefully we finish off the Canadiens tomorrow at Verizon.

LETS GO CAPS!!!!