The Rams have confirmed that they are willing to trade the #2 overall pick. Rumors have it that the Redskins are willing to trade for it. The asking price will be at least two first rounders plus additional picks. Depending on what the additional picks are, I would be willing to make this trade. We need to get that franchise QB. This year's class is thin at that position and we have to make a run at him. Other options include Manning which I don't think is an option. Flynn who the Skins are apparently not interested in. Tannehill who is a second tier college QB. Other FAs who are not that great and really aren't the long term answer to our QB situation.
The more I see/hear about RGIII, the more I like. I have long said that one of my biggest pro's for him is his discipline (coming from a military family) and his cockiness. I believe all great QBs need to have that quality as that is what separates them from others. There is a difference b/t cockiness and arrogance. All great players should have that swag that says that I can beat you no matter what. Arrogance is more talk than action. RGIII seems like the kind of guy that is willing to work hard and prove he is as advertised and he also seems like a guy that wants to prove that he is better than Luck. Lets not forget his tremendous physical abilities.
The biggest con for him though is that he has not played in a pro style offense. Also, would the Shannys try and control him too much and not allow him to use his abilities. The Shannys do like roll out plays and RGIII could use his athleticism for that. I know they want an athletic QB as that is what they hoped they were getting with Mc5 and then their reason for liking Beck. Elway and Cutler were both athletic. RGIII may fit well into their system.
The word is that the Skins have the inside track because of Shanny's relationship with Fisher and Allen's relationship with the Rams GM. Still, nothing is for certain and there is much that can happen with the Rams pick. No doubt they want to engage into a bidding war. I like that we want to enter the bidding but I just don't want to overbid because if we do and RGIII is not as advertised, it could set us back big time.
Total Pageviews
Wednesday, February 29, 2012
Bud Select 55 SUCKS!!!!
Tried this "beer" over the weekend and it is horrible. It doesn't even taste like beer. I suppose less calories means less taste. Anyway, a warning to all, do not drink this unless you don't like beer.
Friday, February 24, 2012
Huguely guilty of murder
For those that have been following the case of the UVA lacrosse player, George Huguely, charged with killing his ex girlfriend UVA women's lacrosse player, Yeardley Love, he was found guilty. After nearly nine hours of deliberation Wednesday, a jury found George Huguely V guilty of second-degree murder and grand larceny involving the death of Yeardley Love. Huguely was found not guilty on all other charges.
Second-degree murder in Virginia is defined as murder with malice that is not premeditated. It carries a sentence of five to 40 years. A sentence of grand larceny ranges from one to 20 years.
After delivering the verdict, the jury deliberated for almost two hours and recommended a sentence of 26 years, 25 years for the murder charge and 1 year for grand larceny.
Seems like a fair sentence. It's sad all around. There really are no winners in this case. A young woman is dead and a young man has thrown his life away. He will spend the next couple of decades in jail and even when he comes out, it is hard to imagine he will be able to thrive. Personally, I don't think it was premeditated so it seems appropriate to not get first degree murder charges. I do believe he went over there that night to do harm. I do not think he intended to kill her. It seems like a guy that had an alcohol problem and anger issues and things went too far. It's too bad for him but it is really too bad for Yeardley Love and her family. Again, there are no winners and it's sad that something like this had to happen.
Second-degree murder in Virginia is defined as murder with malice that is not premeditated. It carries a sentence of five to 40 years. A sentence of grand larceny ranges from one to 20 years.
After delivering the verdict, the jury deliberated for almost two hours and recommended a sentence of 26 years, 25 years for the murder charge and 1 year for grand larceny.
Seems like a fair sentence. It's sad all around. There really are no winners in this case. A young woman is dead and a young man has thrown his life away. He will spend the next couple of decades in jail and even when he comes out, it is hard to imagine he will be able to thrive. Personally, I don't think it was premeditated so it seems appropriate to not get first degree murder charges. I do believe he went over there that night to do harm. I do not think he intended to kill her. It seems like a guy that had an alcohol problem and anger issues and things went too far. It's too bad for him but it is really too bad for Yeardley Love and her family. Again, there are no winners and it's sad that something like this had to happen.
What the hairy heck?!!!

His arms are almost as big as Deepie's. Seriously, If Landry can't go this year, this guy should just give up football and become a bodybuilder. Seems like that is where his head is. Actually, not sure he can do that given all the ink on him. Still, what the heck is this guy doing. Seems to me he is spending too much time lifting and not enough time rehabbing or getting the proper treatment to be football ready.
The thing is for what ever reason he is opting to not get surgery to correct his achilles. He didn't do it last offseason and we saw how far he got without it. Experts have said that he will not be fully healthy unless he gets the surgery. Instead he continues to try alternative treatments including platelet therapy. It won't work. He is probably too concerned about the surgery causing him to not be able to lift for several weeks.
I like Dirty 30 but I really can't see the Skins giving him an expensive long term deal. I don't think we will franchise him because that will go to Fred Davis. If Laron can get someone to bite on a long term deal, good for him. Otherwise, if we can get him on a short term incentive laden deal to prove himself healthy I'm all for it.
Thursday, February 23, 2012
The Senate voted and the Caps lose!
A better performance last night than the one in Carolina but still pretty bad resulting in a 5-2 loss. The third period was much better than the first two but we still seem to make too many mistakes. The first goal was a softy Vokoun allowed and the second was a play Wideman needs to make instead of allowing his guy to go right around him basically unmolested.
Special teams continue to be a HUGE concern. At least, they didn't quit and showed some life in the third period and getting two goals (including one off of Perreault's chicklets).
So the Caps will come back home and play a Friday night game against Montreal followed by a Saturday matchup against Toronto. These are two games we need to win. If we do, we may actually find ourselves back in the playoffs but we just need to put together all around good efforts for the full games. The home game will be interesting because the Caps have lost 3 in a row and I believe 5 of their last 6 and there is no question there will be a different vibe at Verizon. If we struggle, the fans will let them know. It will be a bitter pill for this team that is so used to success and fans appreciation. I do feel like this team is pressing and frustrated so it's going to be interesting to see what happens.
UNLEASH THE FURY!!!
Special teams continue to be a HUGE concern. At least, they didn't quit and showed some life in the third period and getting two goals (including one off of Perreault's chicklets).
So the Caps will come back home and play a Friday night game against Montreal followed by a Saturday matchup against Toronto. These are two games we need to win. If we do, we may actually find ourselves back in the playoffs but we just need to put together all around good efforts for the full games. The home game will be interesting because the Caps have lost 3 in a row and I believe 5 of their last 6 and there is no question there will be a different vibe at Verizon. If we struggle, the fans will let them know. It will be a bitter pill for this team that is so used to success and fans appreciation. I do feel like this team is pressing and frustrated so it's going to be interesting to see what happens.
UNLEASH THE FURY!!!
Wednesday, February 22, 2012
CP wants to come back to the NFL
After a year off, CP has been going public about his desire to return to the NFL. He is 30 years old but wants to prove he still has it. He claims he is more focused and more spiritual and that he is willing to take a backup role but wants to find the right situation.
I think the real reason is that he didn't like the way he went out and also that he is like 77 yards shy of reaching the 10,000 yard mark and that is something important to him.
I like CP and I'd like him to reach that mark but at 30 years of age I'm not sure what type of opportunities he will be given. Hopefully he can land some where and have some success and then go out on his terms.
I think the real reason is that he didn't like the way he went out and also that he is like 77 yards shy of reaching the 10,000 yard mark and that is something important to him.
I like CP and I'd like him to reach that mark but at 30 years of age I'm not sure what type of opportunities he will be given. Hopefully he can land some where and have some success and then go out on his terms.
Tuesday, February 21, 2012
Caps caught in the eye of the Hurricane
PATHETIC!!!! Caps get demolished 5-0 against the worst team in the Eastern Conference. Beaten in EVERY aspect of the game. We were out shot, out hit, out hustled. Gave up a PP AND shorthanded goal. There was nothing positive about this game. It was the worst showing I had seen under Hunter's watch. The worst showing since a game earlier in the year against the Sabres when we were dominated against a ridiculously undermanned Sabre team that was pretty much playing their AHL team because of all of their injuries.
I REALLY don't understand the direction of this team. Frustrating because we cannot score any goals. I can't remember the last time I heard of Ward or Halpern or Beagle or anyone other than Ovie, Brower, or Semin scoring a goal. There is no movement. There are too many turnovers. It's just bad play all around. Not sure if it is coaching or players but it's pathetic. Frankly, I don't even know if it is worth making a trade because we don't seem close to making a solid run for the Cup this year. I would almost rather keep younger talent and/or draft picks to try and rebuild with some younger guys.
Because of the sad state of the SE division, we still find ourselves in the thick of things with several games to play but with the kind of efforts we have seen recently, there is no reason to believe we will get into the playoffs. Obviously, I am very disappointed as I keep hoping for better fortunes in the next game but continuously get surprised at the lack of effort. Will be interesting to see how this team responds over the last few weeks of this season and then what happens in the offseason particularly if we do not make the playoffs.
I REALLY don't understand the direction of this team. Frustrating because we cannot score any goals. I can't remember the last time I heard of Ward or Halpern or Beagle or anyone other than Ovie, Brower, or Semin scoring a goal. There is no movement. There are too many turnovers. It's just bad play all around. Not sure if it is coaching or players but it's pathetic. Frankly, I don't even know if it is worth making a trade because we don't seem close to making a solid run for the Cup this year. I would almost rather keep younger talent and/or draft picks to try and rebuild with some younger guys.
Because of the sad state of the SE division, we still find ourselves in the thick of things with several games to play but with the kind of efforts we have seen recently, there is no reason to believe we will get into the playoffs. Obviously, I am very disappointed as I keep hoping for better fortunes in the next game but continuously get surprised at the lack of effort. Will be interesting to see how this team responds over the last few weeks of this season and then what happens in the offseason particularly if we do not make the playoffs.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)